



American Contract Bridge League, Unit 531 Meeting Minutes January 3, 2016

President Rick Norton called the meeting to order at 11:06 am.

Present were: Christine Denny, Mary Fenton, Leon Fisher, Louise Manganelli, John McCaffrey, Scott Nelson, Rick Norton, and Lynn Wells. Rosie Zakarian was also present.

Old Business:

As a result of our recent ballot measure and election, board members reduced from 10 to 7 and quorum is therefore now 4. Mary Fenton, Leon Fisher and Louise Manganelli are the newly elected members for the 2016-2017 term.

Norton recapped existing issues for the new Board members, including discipline and venue history.

Dates for 2016 Unit Games were submitted to Ocean Hills Country Club. All dates were approved, except for June and November. Unit Games will be held January 3, January 31, February 28, April 3, July 3, July 31, September 4, October 2, and December 4.

Spring Sectional will be on April 29-30. Lynn Wells agreed to act as the Membership Chair for this tournament.

Other Unit 531-hosted tournaments will include a Non Life Master tournament in June, and the Fall Sectional November 11-12

Despite moving the Sectional to the cooler month of November, attendance was still disappointing. Manganelli suggested looking at the Oceanside Senior Center location on Country Club Drive. She has made contact with the in-charge person and has received a commitment from them for \$30 per hour. The Senior Center has requested a full schedule in order to consider the request.

New Business:

Elections and position appointments were finalized:

President	Vice President	Secretary	Treasurer
Member No: N888468	Member No: 1325000	Member No: 1714023	Member No: 3225135
Name: Scott Nelson	Name: Leon Fisher	Name: Louise Manganelli	Name: Christine Denny
Voting: Y	Voting : Y	Voting : Y	Voting : Y
Membership Chair Member No: 3928187 Name: Lynn Wells Voting : Y	Electronic Contact	Webmaster	Disciplinary Chair
	Member No: 3225135	Member No:	Member No: 3928187
	Name: Christine Denny	Name :	Name: Lynn Wells
	Voting : Y	Voting : N	Voting : Y
Recorder Member No: 3225135 Name: Christine Denny Voting : Y	Business Mgr	Tournament Coordinator	Publicity Chair
	Member No :	Member No: N181054	Member No: N888468
	Name :	Name: John McCaffery	Name: Scott Nelson
	Voting : N	Voting : Y	Voting: Y
Hospitality Chair	I/N Chair	Charity Chair	Education Liaison
Member No: 9724281 Name: Mary Fenton Voting : N	-	-	
	Member No: 1325000	Member No: N888468	Member No: 3928187
	Name: Leon Fisher	Name: Scott Nelson	Name: Lynn Wells
	Voting : Y	Voting: Y	Voting : Y
NAP Coordinator	GNT Coordinator	STaC Coordinator	
Member No: N181054	Member No: N181054	Member No: N181054	
Name: John McCaffery Voting : Y	Name: John McCaffery Voting : Y	Name: John McCaffery Voting : Y	

Month and Year Election held: November, 2015

Number of voting members on Unit Board of Directors: 7

Do you have a set of bylaws filed with ACBL?: Amended version attached

Date of last membership meeting: November 29, 2015

Date of last sectional meeting: November 12, 2015

Has a Written copy of your past year's financial statement been prepared and made available? No

Submitted By Player no: 3225135

Submitted Date:

Treasurer's report was approved.

The Board requested the current Bylaws, as amended. Previous Bylaws may be found here: <u>http://www.acbldistrict22.com/531/Bylaws.pdf</u>. The Amendment, as approved, is attached to these minutes.

Newly-elected President Scott Nelson adjourned the meeting at 12:06pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine Denny Secretary MOTION: "BE IT RESOLVED THAT ARTICLE V OF THE BYLAWS IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

" A. Number of Directors

The affairs of the Unit shall be managed and conducted by the Board of Directors which shall consist of seven (7) persons, all of whom must be members of the Unit and one of whom shall be the immediate outgoing President. If the President's term has expired, he/she shall be an exofficio member for one year. No club owner or manager is eligible to become a member of the Board of Directors. ""

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT ARTICLE V OF THE BYLAWS BE AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS: 'B. Term of Office

1. Each director shall hold office for a period of two (2) years, which shall coincide with the calendar year of the Unit and shall continue to hold office until his successor shall have been elected.

2. Duly elected members shall be staggered to provide continuity. In even numbered years four (4) directors shall be elected and in odd numbered years three (3) directors shall be elected."

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT ARTICLE V OF THE BYLAWS BE AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS: G. Quorum

1. A quorum of the Board of Directors for the transaction of business shall consist of not less than FOUR (4) Directors."

IN ALL OTHER RESPECTS, THE BYLAWS ARE UNCHANGED AND REMAIN IN FULL FORCE AND EFFECT."